In His Time

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven.  …  a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted.  (Ecclesiastes 3:1 & 2.)

One of the drivers, perhaps the main driver, behind my dive into the meaning of vocation is my desire to be doing professionally what God wants me to be doing where he wants me to be doing it.  I am usually not certain at all that that is the case.  And then I feel this uneasiness, this hard-to-define feeling, that I am wasting my time.  Wasting God’s blessings on my life.  And that God is vaguely dismayed.

I was agitated with these thoughts this morning.  Then the words of the Teacher in Ecclesiastes quoted above came to my mind.

I think God is gently letting me know that I need to be humble before him with these words.

“Son,” he is saying, I think, “there is a time for every matter.”  “I know.  I will bring it about.  Right now is the time I have set for you to plant what you have, and pluck up what you plant, where you are, today.  And, when the time comes, the time that is right in my time, I will set you where I want you then, and you will plant what you have then, pluck up what you then plant, where you are then.  There is a time for every matter under heaven.  And I will set that time for you.  Don’t concern yourself with it.  Trust me.”

Leave a Reply

