Every Good Endeavor 9

imgresIn Every Good Endeavor, Tim Keller observes that God provides “purpose for our work by calling us to serve the world” through our work.  Very Lutheran.

“Our daily work,” once so reconceived as “God’s assignment to serve others” then becomes a calling.  This implies “we are not to choose jobs and conduct our work to fulfill ourselves and accrue power….”  Why?  I love this answer: “for being called by God to do something is empowering enough.”

So how should one choose one’s work?  By asking, “How, with my existing abilities and opportunities, can I be of greatest service to other people, knowing what I do of God’s will and of human need?”  In this statement I hear an echo of Frederick Buechner’s oft-quoted definition of vocation in Wishful Thinking: A Theological ABC: “The place God calls you to is the place where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet.”

(By the way, I find myself returning time and again to Buechner’s three autobiographies, especially when I want to re-examine my own life’s path and God’s calling for me.  They are The Sacred Journey, Now and Then, and Telling Secrets.  The subtitle of Now and Then?  “A Memoir of Vocation.”)

2 thoughts on “Every Good Endeavor 9

  1. Pingback: Tim Keller on Work on Morning Joe | Working Prototype

  2. Pingback: Work in the Spirit 1 | Working Prototype

Leave a Reply

