Business for the Common Good 1

imgresIn Business for the Common Good, Kenman Wong and Scott Rae observes how Miroslav Volf “has extended the idea of the work and dominion mandate to give it an eschatological dimension” in Work in the Spirit.

As a result, Volf sees “work as one of the places where we can use our spiritual gifts” rather than restricting them to “ecclesiastical activity.”  “As Christians do their mundane work, the Spirit enables them to cooperate with God in the kingdom of God that ‘completes creation and renews heaven and earth.’”

I don’t remember anyone ever teaching that the spiritual gifts are only for church activities.  But then, I also don’t remember anyone teaching about how to use spiritual gifts in any context other than church or “ministry.”  So this idea struck me as a breath of fresh air.

And the idea makes experiential sense to me.

One of my spiritual gifts is teaching according to various assessments I’ve done.  Since I’ve always enjoyed teaching the Bible at church, this wasn’t a surprise.  But one aspect of being a lawyer I enjoy a lot is that I get to “teach” my clients on how to structure deals and solve thorny issues.  In fact, this is one reason why I enjoy working with clients who are new to the industry in which I work — because I get to do more teaching with them than I would with more experienced and sophisticated clients.

Using spiritual gifts in non-church settings.  Who would’ve thunk it?

One thought on “Business for the Common Good 1

  1. Pingback: Work in the Spirit 15 | Working Prototype

Leave a Reply

